Edward Sandwiches

P1420302

Now that I am getting ready to leave Taiwan, it’s strange to reflect on my feelings upon my arrival here.  One of the worst parts for me was finding somewhere I could eat.  I am a vegetarian and on top of that, a picky eater.  To make matters worse, I couldn’t speak any Chinese.  Every trip out to eat seemed to end in frustration.

Night markets were always especially confusing.  I never knew what I could or couldn’t eat.  When we moved to a building next to Ruifeng Night Market (瑞豐夜市), I was determined to find something there I enjoyed eating.  Edward and his wonderful green onion pancake sandwiches saved the day.

Edward, who speaks perfect English, saw me looking lost and offered for me to try a (vegetarian) basil omelet green onion pancake.  This may sound a little strange, but it is wonderfully delicious.  Edward starts by making an omelet with your choice of ingredients.  I always stick with basil, but others include ham, chicken, corn, and cheese.  He then attaches a “fluffed” green onion pancake and brushes the egg with sweet soy sauce and a spicy chili sauce.  Finally, the layered concoction is folded in half and served.  This should be on everyone’s “must eat” list while in Taiwan.

P1420314

As if the food wasn’t great enough, Edward is one of the most amazing night market vendors I have ever met.  He always remembers my name and regularly asks me about my family who visited ages ago.  He offers local advice and genuinely seems proud to serve his product.

While Edward’s stand used to be difficult to locate, his new spot is an improvement.  You can find him on the west side of the market on the sidewalk at the front of the market.  His stall faces and is actually on Yucheng Road.  Sandwiches range from $40NT to $70NT.  If you have the chance, Edward’s green onion pancake stand is definitely worth a visit on your next trip to Ruifeng.

2 Comments

Filed under Eat!, Kaohsiung, Taiwan

2 responses to “Edward Sandwiches

  1. Sounds delicious, I will check out Edward’s sandwiches for sure. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

