Chickpea Tacos

Chickpea Tacos

Tex Mex is certainly one of my all-time favorite foods. Since becoming vegetarian, real meaty tacos are about the only non-rabbit food dish that I crave. For a while, I substituted TVP for meat, but I found the substance unreliable. Plus, who knows what’s in that stuff?

Thanks to Pinterest, I found this Instructable for chickpea tacos. Chickpeas are the perfect substitute for taco meat. I think I even prefer chickpea tacos to real meat tacos. As an added bonus, this dish is super quick and easy to prepare.
So, here is my version of chickpea tacos. I hope you give it a try for your next taco night.

Chickpea Tacos

1 Tbsp oil
1 14.5 oz or 433 g can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
½ large onion
3 cloves of garlic
1 Tbsp taco seasoning
1 Tbsp water
1 lime
tortilla shells
salsa and cilantro for garnish

Cut onion into thin slices and mince garlic cloves. Heat oil in a large skillet. Add chickpeas and onion. Cook, stirring often, until chickpeas begin to brown. Add garlic and taco seasoning. Allow this to cook, stirring very frequently, for 2 to 3 minutes. Then, deglaze the pan with the juice from half the lime and the tablespoon of water. Scrape the bottom of the pan to get off any seasoning stuck there. Allow to cook for 2 more minutes, and then turn off the heat. Serve this delicious mixture in heated tortilla shells. Top with salsa and fresh cilantro.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do. Feel free to comment with any variations or suggestions you may have.

1 Comment

October 29, 2013 · 12:22 am

One response to “Chickpea Tacos

  1. Pingback: Taco Seasoning | Every Mile a Memory

Leave a Reply

