Taco Seasoning

Taco Seasoning

Taco seasoning is one of those things that is difficult to find in Taiwan. True, it’s not impossible, but it is difficult.

For a while, I had my mother ship my favorite seasoning from the States. But, one day I was really craving tacos. Naturally, I was out of taco seasoning. That’s when I learned just how easy it is to make your own taco seasoning from common spice rack ingredients.

1-IMG_2332

I prefer the following combination of spices, but I have also seen recipes including onion powder, oregano, or cayenne pepper. So, experiment with different ingredients to find your favorite combination.

Taco Seasoning

1 Tbsp chili powder
½ Tbsp paprika
½ Tbsp cumin
½ tsp salt
½ tsp garlic pepper (You can substitute garlic powder and a little pepper.)
½ tsp Italian seasoning
¼ tsp ground coriander
¼ tsp dried pepper (You can substitute cayenne pepper or red chili flakes here)

Combine all ingredients and store in an old spice container or baby food jar. Use 1/8 cup of taco seasoning to spice one pound of meat.

Of course, you can also use this taco seasoning with my chickpea tacos recipe.

1 Comment

October 28, 2013 · 10:12 am

One response to “Taco Seasoning

  1. Pingback: Chickpea Tacos | Every Mile a Memory

Leave a Reply

