Cheater’s Hummus

Cheater's Hummus

I love hummus. I love its protein content and the fact that it compliments a good flat bread perfectly. But, I’ve searched high and low all over Kaohsiung without finding any. It’s been well over a year since I’ve had a jar of delicious hummus. Needless to say, I’m craving its creamy goodness.

So, I decided to take matters into my own hands. I would make my own hummus!

Of course, this wasn’t as easy done as said. No tahini was to be found in any foreign grocery store around town either. And who has time to make their own tahini? Plus, I don’t think my ancient blender is up to the task of pureeing all those tiny sesame seeds.

I thought that perhaps I would be defeated in this quest and hummus was just one of the foods I would give up while living in Taiwan. That was until a little birdy whispered a tiny secret into my ear. You can actually replace tahini with peanut butter!

I jumped right into trying out this new trick and settled on the following recipe. Naturally, flat bread is also difficult to find. So, as you can see from the picture, I made my own using this recipe from Jamie’s Home Cooking Skills. It’s so easy to make that I wouldn’t hesitate making homemade even in a country where flat breads are readily available.

Hummus

1 can chickpeas
Juice of 1 lemon
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 clove garlic
¼ cup creamy peanut butter

Put all ingredients into a food processor or blender. Blend until desired consistency.

For a thinner consistency, add water one teaspoon at a time.

Do you have any suggestions for flavor variations? I would love to hear about your tips and tricks for making hummus in the comments below.

Leave a comment

October 11, 2013 · 1:24 am

Leave a Reply

