The Beginning

Everyone survives for the rush. For some people, it’s walking into the court room or the OR. For others, it’s third down on the first yard line or three balls and two strikes with three runners on. This is the reason people keep going. They just need to feel that fire, that excitement. Without it, there is nothing to live for, nothing for which to endure. For me, the thing I keep waking up for, keep enduring for – my rush – is travelling.

Edward Dahlburg once commented, “When one realizes that his life is worthless, he either commits suicide or travels.” I would have to agree with him. I’m not saying that I believe my life to be worthless or that I would even think of committing suicide, but I am saying that at a certain point, I realized travelling and experiencing other cultures is more worthwhile than the everyday monotony of life in small town Indiana.

This brings me to the present. I need that rush. I need a purpose. I need to get the heck out of Indiana. So, a week or so ago, I took matters into my own hands and booked round trip tickets to Southeast Asia. I’m now merely 24 hours from embarking on the trip of a lifetime. And let me tell you, I’m a bit terrified. While I’ve backpacked Europe, Turkey, Egypt, and Peru, this will be my first solo trip. (Unfortunately for me, but fortunately for her, my travel mate has grown up and gotten a real job.) I’m not sure what to expect, but having met dozens of fiercely independent women blazing the backpackers’ trails of the world, I have confidence that I am capable.

So this is my experiment. As someone once said, this is my time to leave the past in the past. After all those decisions don’t mean anything half way around the world. I am what I am today. There’s no going back. It’s also my time to let the future write itself. I have no plans for the next month. I will go wherever the wind might blow. It’s time to discover who I am and what I am capable of. Yes, I’m a little scared and a little excited. But no, Dad, I’m not going to stay home. This is my adventure, and in the end, I don’t know where I may find myself. I also don’t know who I will meet along the way or who I will be in the end. One thing’s for sure, though, I’m certainly about to find out.

See you all in Asia!

4 Comments

Filed under SE Asia Trip

4 responses to “The Beginning

  1. Cyndy P

    “Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.”
    George Bernard Shaw

  2. Diane

    I want you to know how proud I am of you. I will miss you and be afraid for you, but also very happy for you. I too always wanted to see the world, but never had the drive that you do. Be safe.

    Love,
    Mom

  3. Alyssa

    Sarah – I love you for doing this! First of all, I miss you terribly. Life isn’t quite the same without you across the hall or experiencing the world together. That summer will forever be the best summer of my life. I have countless memories of all the people, places, food, cultures and crazy moments that we encountered, whether it be good or bad. I wish with all my heart that I could be on this next great adventure with you, but I know you will have a blast! Face the world head on – meet tons of people (as we know it is one of the greatest perks of traveling), eat great food (too bad I can’t try the Big Mac’s…haha!), immerse yourself in the culture and make lifelong memories.
    Love – Alyssa

  4. Meredith

    On behalf of small town indiana, we miss you already… you’re so brave to do this on your own but then again I wouldn’t expect anything less of you!

Leave a Reply

